New Year’s Desperation Celebration

anniethinksabout

As we all know, New Year’s Eve is the night of all night’s, the eve of all eve’ s, the biggest party night of the year. For me, it was a fail-safe excuse to drink.

The first New Year’s Eve in my adult life without alcohol was an emotional rollercoaster for me, but at the same time it was the beginning of a new reality and new ways to celebrate. Until then I had never known any other way to celebrate than with alcohol.

I had been sober for only a month, was fresh meat in the AA rooms, and white knuckling my way through the holidays.  I was overwhelmed with cravings daily, desperately seeking something to take me out of my misery.

By New Year’s Eve I was pissed off! I was so frazzled and overwhelmed with this new way of life that I could barely see straight. I…

View original post 280 more words

Leave a Reply

